Home » Uncategorized » What about now? Why should we wait? We can chase these dreams down the interstate…

What about now? Why should we wait? We can chase these dreams down the interstate…

Things are about to get busy with traveling around here. I’m really looking forward to it! I talked about this on my old blog, but only about 6 people have access to that one. The last weekend of this month, I’m driving down to Florida to visit Jonathan’s family. I can’t wait to see them! I’ll leave there on Monday and head to my aunt’s house near Atlanta and spend Monday night and Tuesday night with her. I haven’t seen Aunt Jenny in… too long. Then Wednesday I fly out to Seattle to see Jonathan (Wednesday-Sunday).

The following weekend two of my best girlfriends, Brooke and Beth-Anne, are coming to visit. I’m sure we’ll cook and do girly stuff and maybe a little wedding planning. :)

Friday, August 2 I’m flying back out to Seattle. Saturday night or Sunday morning, Jonathan and I will begin driving to Florida. We’ll visit Yellowstone, Mt. Rushmore, and maybe a couple of other short stops along the way. Yellowstone will be our biggest stop. We’re going to drive some through the night and camp some. It’s going to be so much fun!! I’ve never been out west, so other than my July Seattle trip, this will be my first big trip and my first road trip… and mine and Jonathan’s first trip together. After not being with him all summer I am really looking forward to spending 50 or so hours in the car with him. :) I’ll probably change my mind about the car part of that after about 15 hours of driving, but I doubt I’ll change my mind about the Jonathan part. He’s my favorite person to spend time with. My car will be parked at the Atlanta airport so we’ll pick it up on our way through Atlanta and then finish driving down to his parents house. I’ll spend the weekend there and then come back home. Jonathan will head back at the end of August.

I wanted to go visit my parents some this summer since they’re only an hour away but we seem to be traveling on opposite weekends which works out well for dog-sitting but not for visiting.

I have had a box of vital wheat gluten sitting in my pantry for many months intending to make seitan, but never got around to it because I thought it would be complicated or time consuming or… I don’t know. I just didn’t do it. Earlier I decided that I felt like cooking something new, so I made some. It was SO EASY and the only time consuming part was letting them simmer in the broth for about 45 minutes. They are also delicious. I think I might make a red thai coconut curry tonight and slice up some of the seitan for it.

If I’m going to make red thai coconut curry then I need to go to the asian grocery store and try to find curry paste. I am finding that I love thai coconut curries. They’re pretty healthy and relatively low calorie and flavorful and delicious and full of veggies.

I love hanging clothes on the clothesline, especially my sheets. The wind blows all of the wrinkles out and you’re left with smooth, fresh smelling sheets. I don’t necessarily like the feel of towels that have been line-dried, but I do like that the UV rays from the sun kill bacteria and help to eliminate that sour towel smell. I usually wash my towels with a little white vinegar anyway to help get rid of the smell, but hanging them on the line also helps. John, my landlord, has his shop behind my house so he and his dad are constantly driving by… anyway, John and Tracy are friends with my parents and had a little baby about a month ago. My parents went to the hospital to see the new mom and dad and baby and saw John’s parents, who they also know. John’s dad said that he is so impressed with me… getting out there and hanging my clothes on the clothesline. He didn’t think young people did that anymore. LOL

My mom taught me how to hang clothes. You have to do them a certain way and in a particular order so that like is grouped with like things for esthetic reasons and because when you take the clothes off the line you can fold them and stack them in your basket and there is no sorting when it’s time to put them away. She also showed me how to hang sheets so that they aren’t creased and how to hang shirts so that the clothespin dent is in an inconspicuous area. My childhood is full of memories of clothes hanging out on the clothesline at my house and my grandmother’s house. I’m sure my children will have those same memories. And while I’ll teach them to hang the clothes on the line, they probably won’t have much opportunity to do it because I truly ENJOY that chore. When I was living at home, my mom and I would “fight” over who got to hang the clothes. Usually we’d both go out and do it together. Now, if only someone would “fight” with me over who has the privilege of putting them away. :) Jonathan has sweetly made the deal with me that if wash, dry, and fold all the laundry when we’re married, he’ll put it away. We both feel like we get the best end of that deal. Now if only I can convince him that he gets the best end of the deal when I cook and he does the dishes. ;) I’m still working on that one!

Leave a Reply

